There are worse things in life than death; in support of horse racing

Brilliant piece

The Wittering Woman

As the dust settles on the Grand National, this seems as good a time as any to try to formulate my thoughts on horse racing into some kind of cohesive discourse.

To get my position out there from the start: I love racing. I’ve followed it since I was a child, I worked within the industry for a few years and I count it as my number one hobby.  The joy of watching fit, gleaming Thoroughbreds pounding across the turf, the thrill as a seasoned chaser describes a perfect arc over a jump and races on to the next with ears pricked, the imperious toss of the head as the winner comes in, the enjoyment of seeing the sons and daughters (and grandsons and granddaughters, and then some…I’m no spring chicken) of old favourites now at stud taking their turn on the stage.

Despite that lifelong love of the sport…

View original post 1,040 more words

Leave a Reply

