Japanese interview with Seb

Il Divo” Sebastien confesses that he has fallen in love with Japan since his first visit to Japan, and challenges the Japanese cover of “Let’s walk upwards”

Sebastien Izambard (49) of the internationally popular multinational vocal group “Il Divo” recently responded to an interview with Sports Hochi, and released his first solo album in five years, ” From Seb with Love ” (now on sale). told his thoughts on

Since their first visit to Japan in 2007, they are a Japanophile group that frequently visits Japan for performances. This album, which signed a solo contract with Universal Music, contains 10 songs including Have I Told You Lately'',Let’s Fall In Love” and “I Do”.

“In my solo career, I produce and write songs, so I wanted to show that. About the reason why he challenged the Japanese cover of Kyu Sakamoto ‘s famous song ” Ue o Muite Arukou”, which is famous overseas as “SUKIYAKI”, he said , “Ever since my first visit to Japan 15 years ago, I have fallen in love with Japan. I knew this song from listening to it in English, so I wanted to sing it in Japanese someday.”

Before the recording, I received an email from Mr. Rikimaru Nakamura, the eldest son of Hachidai Nakamura who composed the song. “Rikimaru-san said, ‘I’m looking forward to what Seb will bring to the world.’ He was happy that I sang. He gave me an English translation of the lyrics, and the way I saw the song changed. After learning the meaning of the lyrics, I thought it was a message that I wanted to convey to the whole world.

In December last year, the leader Carlos Marin (53 years old) was infected with the new corona and died. “Carlos will always be in our hearts and will continue to be the energy of Il Divo and we want to protect his legacy,” he promised. “I want to become an il divo that incorporates modern sounds in addition to classical elements. I want to become a group that even younger audiences can listen to,” he vowed.

He will hold a concert in Japan in January next year. “There are many songs that are perfect for the Christmas season, so I hope you enjoy listening to them (towards the end of the year).” (Shintaro Kamo)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.